, ,

Next On The List

By Ng’ong’a

From the moment she came to the waiting room to call out the next person to go into the interview room, I could see the tension in his eyes. He was shaking a bit which I consider normal for everyone when you are about to face the unknown. Interview panels have been for long portrayed as a battleground where you go to war, like you are required to be ready or you will be slayed. I had a problem facing interviewers too until I found out they are scared too. They do not know the kind of interviewee that might walk in through that door. They keep guessing what it will be like asking you question after question. Someone might want to try to make you slip but what if you already know that trick and you do not eat that bait. What if it goes on smoothly to the end and you leave them wondering where have you been all the while? The young man seated next to me was breathing heavily and finding no spot to rest his hands. He kept swinging them, rubbing and fidgeting with his fingers. He must have spinned that pen a million times just to calm down.

He started pacing about the verandah going all the way to the latrines. He needed to take a lick maybe or ease the tension building in his tummy by squatting and letting the air out. It is relieving to be aware of your own fear, to feel its edges, smell its sweat and that thick energy around you, so heavy you can feel it’s weight on your shoulder. I came here because I want to show them that if we partner together we might get something great out of this work. I know what I come with to the table, and they better see it because I am not hiding anything. I want this to work and it is the turn of the interviewers to want the same thing. I know we both can merge our interests and align them to the purpose of this short term exercise. So, I came to find out what you expect. I do give it the attention it requires but I honestly have nothing to lose. I am here for the experience. Dressed up comfortably, my khaki pants, a navy blue short-sleeved shirt, with a black hoodie for the cold. I have my black socks and wearing my VIGO sandals, I cannot put on shoes at the moment. I have gone to several interviews wearing my sandals and I am thinking they ought to seek my substance and not my form, right! If they get distracted by my VIGO and miss out on hearing about my experience and what I can offer at a reasonable fee, well, it will be unfortunate to say the least.

Leave a comment

Comments (

0

)